Musings of a VBS Director

God did it again! 11 teams. 11 areas. 39 volunteers. 355 precious children. God scored another victory for us. He completely turned around what looked to be a hopeless situation.

When we started vacation Bible school (VBS) last week, we had nothing. The church funds for the project were not available. There were no materials or workbooks. Pledges from people did not come in.

What was I thinking? Not much. Prior to the VBS week was a training week for the academy teachers. My concern was mainly how to get all the teachers to train.

Some were thinking of canceling the event. Some were fearful. But I had a back-up plan in the event that we do not have teaching materials -I was going to write the lesson plans. The thought that I’d be writing lesson plans felt like my brain was going to dry up. How long has it been since I wrote lesson plans? 11 years! Great! I haven’t seen a shadow of a lesson plan in 11 years!

This is only my second year as a VBS Director and I always have this doubt at the back of my mind. Am I cut out for this? I recalled the last year’s VBS. It was also victorious. Did I have alot of money back then? No. Was I a better strategist and planner back then? No. Now? Not even now.

There were many times I foolishly think that the success of any particular project I lead, is in my puny hands. Sure, I may have some skills and a functional brain, but God was quick to intervene. He deliberately pushed me to the edge where I can no longer depend on my skills or what little knowledge I have. It was incredible how God reminded me that this is His work and I’m only an instrument. It was a process where He made sure He gets all the credit and the glory.

4 days before the VBS, the materials arrived -director’s manual, instructional dvd, etc. Clearly, God was saying, “Go on! Go forward!”  Thank you ate Norlene Estenzo for lending us the materials.

So we stepped out in faith. We had a plan, but God’s plan was so much better than our plan. As soon as we acted in faith, God’s hand started to move mightily and it led us to achieve what He wanted us to achieve.

I’d like to acknowledge the people who came together as a team:

Thank you volunteers. Thank you for volunteering your time and efforts and even your money. Thank you for staying up late at night to study your lessons and prepare the activity materials. It was not a perfect team considering the different personalities and preferences, but you were there and you worked your best. Thank you! A big thank you also goes to the host families. Thank you for preparing snacks for the children and lunch for the teachers out of your own pockets throughout the 5-day event. Thank you, too, for the cash contributions. Thank you for being generous. Your financial assistance became part of the workbooks, the daily fuel of the cab, the fare and snacks of the children. The cab drivers where also a great blessing! Thank you all for being available to work. Parents, thank you for allowing your children to be a vital part of this event. Thank you! Thank you!

10363880_717633954942069_5586770981256620269_n

1981969_717634014942063_3794849862672641310_n

10369916_717632364942228_2843839633449916756_n

10264966_717633561608775_3319203120756991173_n

 10313501_717633394942125_916344154391795819_n

On the 5th day, we held a graduation program at the church. I can barely hear my own voice over the microphone. It was a ruckus! And I mean that in a positive way. The kids had fun. (Sorry for the poor pics!) There were group singing presentations and comical skits.

Thank you to the sponsors of the snacks -pancit bihon, macaroni soup, and the refreshments. Thank you so much!

Most importantly, we were able to plant the seeds of God’s saving grace in the hearts of each child. They have all professed to have accepted Him as their Lord and personal Savior but only God sees the true condition of each soul. We do what we can, but only God can truly change a heart. We plant, we cultivate, but only God can give the increase.

To God be the glory!

 

Leave a Reply

