Poured Out

“…But poured it out to the Lord.” ~ 1 Chronicles 11:18

A full reading of the chapter tells us that David was just crowned king, and that he was at war with the Philistines who occupied Bethlehem, a city which actually belongs to Israel. One day, while being camped out for the siege of Bethlehem, David’s 3 mightiest warriors – Abishai, Jasho-beam, and Eleazar -heard that David wished to have a drink from the water of the well INSIDE Bethlehem.

These loyal warriors broke through the armies of the Philistines just to get a bucket of water from the well inside Bethlehem. Imagine the trouble they went through just to get that water. Can you actually put your neck on the line just so someone could drink water?

The soldiers did get the water, but David could not bring himself to drink the water. It was like the warriors’ very own life. David poured out the water to the Lord.

Whaaaaaaaaaaaat???

If I was one of the soldiers and David poured out the water instead of drank it after I risked my very own life for it, I would be furious! Wouldn’t you?

It seemed like the water was wasted. But then, come to think of it, nothing is really wasted when it is for the Lord.

Mar 8:35  For whosoever will save his life shall lose it; but whosoever shall lose his life for my sake and the gospel’s, the same shall save it.

A lot of people think giving one’s life and following Christ is a waste. It is not so. When I was younger, someone told me that if I keep on living for myself, sooner or later, I will realize my life is meaningless and that I will be prone to chronic depression with suicidal tendencies. I believe he’s right. I’ve seen it happen to a lot of people. It’s a tragedy to live life as a mere existence.

So what does “…Poured out to the Lord.” exactly mean?

It means to give our lives to the cause of telling others about Jesus and what He has done for our insignificant lives. I am not saying we should all be preachers or we should all go to Bible College. You could be a student, an employee, a boss, a spouse, a relative, or a friend… You could be where you are and what you are right now and still be able to share Jesus.

Pouring out is simply giving everything you are, your efforts and resources so that others may know Jesus as their Savior. Pouring out requires only a willing and unselfish heart.

 

One thought on “Poured Out

Leave a Reply

