Sometimes I Picture God That Way

How do you picture God?

Most people picture God like a grumpy old man holding a bat ready to strike whenever we mess up. First of all, my Bible does not say He is a grumpy old guy. Secondly, my Bible doesn’t show He’s the trigger-happy type ready to punish at every opportunity. In fact, He’s extremely loving and patient desiring that we would see the error of our ways long before He intervenes and stops us. Most of the time, we just couldn’t stop ourselves from messing our own lives. And I am forever grateful that He never fails to come to the rescue.

 

 

SOMETIMES I PICTURE GOD THAT WAY

A sunburned face and weathered hands,
He stretches out the nets again.
He steps among the twisted lines,
And works them out in his good time,

Sometimes I picture God that way
Untangling all the mess I’ve made
Unraveling my lines so I can fish again one day
Sometimes I picture God that way

Her tender hands pull tangles loose,
From gum in hair to knots in shoes.
With her quilter’s skill and a mother’s joy,
She frees the little girls and boys.

Sometimes I picture God that way
Untangling the mess I’ve made
Unraveling my kite so I can fly again one day
Sometimes I picture God that way

Sometimes I picture God that way
Untangling all the mess I’ve made
Unraveling my darkest nights
To weave a brand new day
Sometimes I picture God that way

 

Leave a Reply

