No Happy Endings

When Walter died, I thought, “Whaaaat??? No happy ending?!”

I like the film  THE PAINTED VEIL and I highly recommend it for husbands and wives because the story is a powerful demonstration of love and forgiveness in the face of infidelity, which resulted to an irreparable consequence.

However, I was disappointed as I have predicted even before I watched the movie.

I think my disappointment is rooted upon the fact that I was hoping for a happily-ever-after ending –because it’s the ideal ending. Just when Walter and Kitty finally patched up their differences, Walter died of cholera. How depressing!  I know I’m quite old to subscribe to Disney’s signature movie ending.

What can I do? I will always be an idealist although things do not always turn out the way we want them to be. I will always be an idealist although people can be unreasonably cruel and hurtful. I will always be an idealist although people’s values change relatively depending on their circumstances. I deliberately refuse to be cynical and pessimistic. You can turn the world upside down, but I will always have and believe in my happy endings!

Leave a Reply

