Ever Been Kidnapped?

Nikki Giovanni, an extremely talented poet whom I admire, wrote the famous KIDNAPPED poem. I like her style so much that I wrote my own version of the kidnapped poem.

It was 3 or 4 years ago when I wrote this poem. Last week, Jerry Jules, my youngest brother, handed me an old, off-white paper. I already forgot ever writing this. When I looked at it, I was so surprise to see a poem written by me. As I was reading the poem, I realized how cheesy I can be -the ‘eeeeeew, eeeeeeeew, eeeeeeeeeeeewwwwwwww’ kind of cheesiness! I can’t believe I actually wrote something like this!!!! I’m posting the poem here just for laughs.

EVER BEEN KIDNAPPED?

ever been kidnapped
by a musician
if i were a musician
i’d kidnap you

wrap you in my ballad
fly you to my house
on the grandest symphony
with the sweetest melody

serenade you with heart strings
put you in my chorus
adorn you with ivory keys
and show you off to my family

play the piano for you
compose you with my love song
anything to win you
til your beat syncs with my rhythm

yeah if i were a musician
i’d kidnap you

ever been kidnapped
by a farmer
if i were a farmer
i’d kidnap you

place you in my nursery
as the apple of my eye
nurture you with loving-kindness
and give you lots of room to grow

i’d plow your stony heart
pluck weeds of restlessness
shade you from heat’s dart
and prune you with gentleness

i’d faithfully watch over you
keep away the pests
but never use chemicals on you
because i love you

yeah if i were a farmer
i’d kidnap you

ever been kidnapped
by a lawyer
if i were a lawyer
i’d kidnap you

habeas corpus you
custody you ad infinitum
reason with your logic
plea-bargain with your heart

petition the Almighty Judge
to compliment my court
as you’d be my award
though never for damages

oh i’d do anything for you
win you over to my hopeless case
chase ambulances, make rain fall
or go forum-shopping

yeah if i were a lawyer
i’d kidnap you

-0-

Leave a Reply

